What's the maddest conspiracy theory you've heard?

Inspired by the GQ thread on people believing that the Sandy Hook murders were a hoax perpetuated by the U.S. government in anticipation of gun control measures.

Seems pretty unlikely…but have you heard any conspiracy theories that were even madder? That have been proposed seriously by someone, not as a joke. I’m a student of history, so my favourites involve monkeying around with chronology. The one I especially like is the “Phantom time hypothesis”, which posits that everything between the years 613-911 A.D. never occurred, and that Charlemagne was invented in a conspiracy.

But I’m sure you’ve heard madder. Care to share?

Nah. That “phantom time” conspiracy theory is interesting, but for a CT to really play, it’s got to have some element of fear to engage the paranoia of the tinfoil-hat crowd, like “UN troops are massing in the Bermuda Triangle in preparation for taking over America”. It also needs a ridiculously fantastic element, such as “Handicapped spaces are painted blue because that’s the color of the UN army’s helmets, and those spots are where they’ll park their tanks when they seize key buildings.” Also, any really good CT should involve the Illuminati, the Knights Templar, or the Jews.

The whole “9/11 was an inside job” thing is pretty batshit crazy.

Far and away, my favorite is David Icke’s theory that the world is run by a conspiracy of shape-shifting lizards, the membership of which includes Queen Elizabeth, George Bush, and Boxcar Willie (well, obviously).

Regards,
Shodan