Can Tin foil hats can do some effect to defending your brain?

I know, I know, Tin foil hats is just a classic conspiracy. However I really want to know can genuinely block of some rays? For instance: Can it block visible light from burning your head into blazing ashes? and Can it obstruct microwaves?. In conclusion, would they absolutely undoubtedly can do this, or is just a additional copy of a ha-ha in the textbook?

Undoubtedly, when worn in the sun, a tin-foil hat would block the light that might give you a sunburn.

However - and I am not an expert - I’d guess that your skin & skull have a better chance of obstructing any “waves” that may affect the electrical activity in your brain.

If you were, for example, struck by lightening, your skin is reasonably conductive and hopefully prevent your brain from being cooked. Wearing the tin foil (actually aluminium) would do next to nothing in this case (except, perhaps, to keep your head warm after you die)

To answer your question about protection from microwaves, you might want to google a video of what happens to aluminum foil inside a microwave. Not pretty at all. I would not recommend using an aluminum foil hat to protect yourself from microwaves.

Something I learned on the Dope:

If you are protecting yourself from invasive rays of the CT type you need to have the shiny side out.

If you are trying to stop them from reading your mind you need to have the shiny side in.

So best approach is a double layer hat, shiny side up on top, shiny side down underneath.

They have to be connected to a copper rod sunk 36" into the ground to be effective.

Also, a tinfoil hat several feet thick might stop a low-velocity projectile. Maybe.

That shows aluminum foil is effective. All the sparking comes from the energy absorbed by the foil, i.e. energy that isn’t getting past the foil.