When, If Ever, is it Appropriate to Blame the Victim?

When I was an undergraduate, there were a series of crimes on and around campus mostly revolving around robberies and petty theft. The adminstrators sent out an alert informing us that a student had been robbed the previous evening. He was sitting on a bench in an outdoor area where he was approached by a few young men who threatened violence if they didn’t give him the laptop he was using. Nobody was injured. I was talking to another student about it when he said, “That’s what he gets for being stupid enough to use his laptop outside like that.”

Generally speaking, I don’t blame the victim of any sort of crime be it violent or fraudulent in nature. Even when I don’t understand how someone could be fooled by a scam, I try not to blame them. As smart as I think I am, you tell me the right con at the right time and I might very well be fooled. I’m not infallible. And if I take my phone out to see I have any messages, is it my fault if someone uses that as an opportunity to rob me? Of course not.

Buuuuut…there are times when I think the victim put themselves in that situation. And this is where I’m treading on thin ice because this kind of thinking removes blame from the perpetrator. How did she expect to be treated while wearing that outfit? How much did she have to drink? What did she think was going to happen when she went up to his apartment? We’ve all heard those kinds of inappropriate questions when it comes to the victims of sexual assault.

What brought this on was reading about the situation with Truth Social and that some investors are likely to take a bath. I don’t feel sorry for them. Anyone who got into bed with Truth Social should have known better. Is it wrong for me to assign them some blame? Is it ever right to blame the victim, even a little?