Teeny Tiny Tea Rant (with Lemon)

Who decided that Lemon Always Goes With Tea???

I hear tell that this is NOT a universal, that perhaps cultures such as China manage to choke down their tea without lemon. Why do those of us in the USA have to be subjected to this?

Do not misunderstand me. I love tea (real tea, not boiled weeds herbal shit) and I love lemons - I’ve even been known to peel and eat a lemon like most folks do an orange. I just don’t like the combination of lemon and tea. Just me.

This is not usually a big deal. Certainly at home there is no problem keeping the lemon and tea separate. Even most of the bottled ice tea brands offer a lemon-free option. Clearly, usually-clueless corporate America is aware there are some us out here who prefer lemon-free tea.

WHY is it so hard for the waitresses at one local restaurant to understand the “no lemon” part of my order???

I’ve been eating at this place for over 5 years. They remember my other preferences - steak rare, burgers well done, likes the trout and fish n’ chips but not the catfish, garlic dressing on the salad and NO TOMATOES on anything… it’s one of the reasons we go there - they really do make an effort to please the customers and remember what their regulars want.

SO WHY CAN’T THEY REMEMBER I DON’T LIKE LEMON IN MY TEA??? LIKE FOR THE 2 MINUTES BETWEEN THE TIME I SAY NO LEMON AND THEY ACTUALLY BRING ME THE TEA???

Last night, instead of putting the lemon on the side with the honey package like they usually do, the waitress jammed a lemon slice into the bottom of my cup, where it wasn’t easily seen. So I pour the tea into the cup and this THING floats to the top, setting off my alarm bells until I identify it as a chunk of lemon. Of course, now the tea reeks of lemon. This stuff would be like drinking Pledge[sub]tm[/sub] furniture polish. I ask for more hot water, etc.

“What’s wrong with the tea, honey?”

“There’s lemon in it.”