Google Pop-Up Blocker vs. The Drudge Report

I use Google Pop-Up blocker. It’s worked great for as long as I’ve been using it, until now.

Whenever I go to the Drudge Report (and only the Drudge Report), I get pop-up ads. For some reason, Google can’t seem to stop the ad on that page. I haven’t noticed this on any other site, but admittedly I don’t go to all that many.

My question is: Has Drudge/his advertiser figured out how to beat it? Has Google come out with a counter punch? (I coudn’t find any upgrade info.) Has anyone else experienced this?

Thanks in advance.

I have no experience with Google’s pop-up blocker, but Firefox and Opera are still blocking any pop-ups at Drudge.

As a WAG, has drudgereport.com somehow been added to your list of sites from which you will accept pop-ups? Does the google bar allow you to set that? Take a walk through the google bar settings and see if something like that happened.

I have the Google bar, and it blocks the first pop-up, but allows the second, albeit a blank window. I have noticed that more sites have found a way around the Google bar. Rat bastards.

Not really sure, but I also have seen this effect and not just with the google pop up stopper. I think it has to do with timing. If it is busy blocking one pop up maybe another sneaks in at that moment? I see it in about 5% of pop ups.

Every now and then I hit a page that gets a popup past the Google toolbar. One that consistantly does so is Snopes; I always get a single popup (well, popunder) from there.

I’ve tried Opera but I get more pages that display odd in Opera than I get popups with IE and the Google Toolbar, so…

I still find occassional popups get past Mozilla - ones that are triggered by a mouseover of a region of the page, for example. But these are listed as ‘things-to-do’ in the Mozilla development pages.

Pop-ups are how the website operators pay for the site.