My Boyfriend Asked Me To Consider A Prenup...Advice Please

I have been with my boyfriend for over 4 years now, basically since I began college back in 2000. We’ve had a great relationship and have been seriously considering marraige. We decided to be brave and went shopping on Black Friday to see what deals were to be had and to take a look at engagement rings while at the mall. It was a great day with lots of shopping and trying on of pretty rings. It was a great day that is until we sat down for dinner and he asked me if I would consider a prenup before getting married. He had heard all sorts of horror stories where the men had all their money taken he said and with divorce rates being what they are, it was only practical. Practical yes, but a slap in my face as well - hell yes. I mean come on here. He’s a teacher and I’m in my last year of going to school for my teaching degree - it’s not like we’re going to be making millions here.

How does the whole prenup thing generally work, anyway? Would it be like a tally system where we add up all the money I’d earned during the marraige and he’d add up all the money he’d earn during the marraige? If that’s the case then I’d surely be screwed as I plan on being a stay at home mom if finances permit.

Sorry if this doesn’t really make sense, but I’m really angry right now. I just tried talking to him about this and he basically blew me off saying that he doesn’t understand why I’m so upset. I’d like to have more information to go to him with once I calm down and can talk rationally to him about it.

If he’s serious about the need for a prenup due to the likelihood of divorce, it’s way, way, way too early to be seriously considering becoming a stay-at-home mom, or a mom of any kind, actually.