Need advice for music for 30-something (guy) to listen to

So I’m looking to broaden my music tastes a bit. Problem is I’m having trouble figuring out what to listen to. Since I’m a 32 year old professional, really the only music I am exposed to is bar music (which is a mish-mash of “alternative” rock which hasn’t changed much in the 14 years since I was a college freshman) and MTV (which just…sucks).

Also, is there music which I am “too old” to listen too? Like it’s ok for me to listen to Alanis Morrisette and Sheryl Crow but not Avril Lavign?

So give me some ideas for some mature music thats out there (other than freakin’ Coldplay).

No, no, and no, but that’s not cause they’re immature, it’s cause they suck.

Okay, I got nothin. The bands I like that are still around tend to be liked by the younger set, which doesn’t make me like them or dislike them any less, but I fear they wouldn’t qualify.

The most “mature”-oriented band I like that’s still around is Fountains of Wayne, and they aren’t as much mature as self-consciously and winkingly immature. But they’re nice and fun power pop without the faux angst of some pseudo-emo alternacrap but sly enough to make you think. And freakin catchy. When I saw them in concert most of the people there were definitely adults (in 25-40 yr range,) with a sprinkling of teens who had only heard “Staci’s Mom”. But dont let that song scare you off, Fountains of Wayne has sort of an Elvis Costello complex, in that they tend to release some of the worst stuff off their albums (besides Leave the Biker, which is the best power pop song in decades.)

You have to help me out a little bit here; how do you define “mature music”?