Anyone play Dwarf Fortress?

It seems right up my alley.

But man, how do you even begin? Does it ever really become second nature? Is it worth it? I’m a huge Nethack fan, and this seems to have a lot of the same appeal, but with more simulation goodness.

But so far, I can’t even pay attention past the setup!

I love Dwarf Fortress to death. I’ve been playing it for a couple of years now.

As to how to get started - the Dwarf Fortress Wiki is a good place to start. It seems to be down right now (3 AM CST), but it should be back up soon. There’s a good page on entitled Your First Fortress.

To get yourself going, I suggest doing what I did - set small goals for each new fortress. It’s easier to have small goals that will teach you how the game works. Examples:

1. Have a hunter, get used to killing wild game and producing meat and leather from a butcher’s shop and tanner’s shop

2. Have a craftsdwarf, make x number of stone, wood and bone crafts before the dwarven caravan arrives in the autumn. Trade these crafts for food.

3. Create x bedrooms. Furnish each with a bed and a cabinet.

…etc.

It really does become second nature. The pseudo-ASCII graphics are a bit of a hurdle for most, but you say you’re a NetHack fan so this shouldn’t be a big deal.

For getting past the setup - just pick a standard loadout and stick with it. This will speed things up. My standard loadout:

1. I pick a site with a river and plenty of trees. Always “Temperate” or “Cold”.

2. My dwarves:

2 Miners
1 Carpenter/Woodcutter
1 Mason/Mechanic/Architect
1 “Leader” - give skills in organization, appraisal, negotiation, persuasion
1 Butcher/Tanner
1 Herbalist/Grower

1. My gear:

Remove one axe (really one need one dwarf chopping wood in the beginning)
Remove anvil (easy to get one from traders later)

Take 2 of all common animals (dog, cat, horse, cow, sometimes muskox) - this way they can breed

Take at least 5 of all seeds (plump helmet, pig tail, cave wheat, dimple cup, rock nut)