Why do I have to restart my smartphone once a week?

I have a Samsung Galaxy S 4G. Under “Support” my phone tells me “T-Mobile suggests that customers restart their mobile devices at least once per week.”

Why?

not sure what O/S but likely that the programs and apps you open do not all get shut down even when you “close” them. The soft reboot ensures that there are not apps in the background chewing up memory and hurting performance. A soft reboot may also clear out RAM memory or things like recent webpage visits. Remember, a smart phone, unlike a PC, has limited memory and processing resources. Reboot ever day, few days, weekly is the easy fix.

It’s like any other computer. There’s stuff that it does when it starts up and shuts down, and it’s important to let it do those things every once in a while.

As a programmer, I must say that I wish they’d stop making the computers in this way. Decades ago, when computers were slower, it was genuinely a good idea to do this stuff once a day, when the computer is turned on. It really did save time and make things run faster during the course of the day. But nowadays, the computers run so fast that in my opinion we’d be better off if everything was kept constantly up to date; it is only the laziness of my fellow programmers that allows them to continue in the old style. And on their behalf, I apologize.

Restarting the phone occasionally will get rid of various glitches that pop up and impede performance of the device. The “smart” part of a smartphone is really a computer, and you don’t let your computer run 24/7 for weeks without rebooting it.

The best way to do it is to power the phone off, pull the battery, reinsert the battery and power back on. I don’t think you have to do it every week. I usually tell my customers to do it when they notice problems with performance of the device.

I certainly do. The only time my work laptop, home laptop and home desktop get rebooted is if updates are installed that require it.