Considering a move to Olympia, WA. What should I know?

My wife and I are trying to relocate to the Pacific Northwest, and have been checking out areas and talking with people that are from that neck of the woods. We currently live in Conroe, about an hour north of the Houston mess. I know that the economic situation isn’t really as hot up there as it is here, but my profession is pretty in demand there. My cousin and I are both commercial fire alarm technicians and he relocated to Tacoma and got a huge pay increase, many more hours than he can work, and went from living in a trailer in a trailer park to buying land and building a house. Our resumes are very comparable, and his boss as already offered me the same gig. I would be more interested in a less urban area to live. Where I grew up, we were a town of 600 people and I am more interested in getting back to somewhat of a smaller town. Conroe has about 100,000 people in it.

What is it like up there? What areas would you recommend? We don’t have kids, but we have my wife’s mom living with us that we support.

It’s kinda late, but I’ll toss out this piece of advice to get things started: if you want/need to see your brother on a regular basis, do not move somewhere south of JBLM (Joint Base Lewis-McChord). It’s a notorious choke point on I-5* since the base has expanded significantly in the last decade or so and at the same time it makes highway expansion impossible. Source: bitter experience (I live in Tacoma and work in Olympia).

If you do choose the Olympia area, I’d suggest somewhere around Lacey.

*Bonus advice: calling it “5” or “The 5” will get you labeled as a Californian — something you don’t want to have happen.

I’ll second Lacey. I lived slightly south of Seattle (near the airport in the “nice area” of the slums :D) for 2 and a half years and my daughter lives in Lacey, which is a MUCH prettier and nicer area than Olympia.