.22 pistol question

I’ve shot exactly two .22 pistols in my life, both Rugers. One was a MKI, and since I was about seven at the time I couldn’t make much of a judgement about it. The second one was a Ruger MKII, rosewood butt, 6" bull barrel. I can hit with that gun SOOOOO much better than I can with my Glock 19 that I’m packing up the Glock in favor of a .22.

I hit 1 out of 10 with the Glock, and 8 out of 10 with the .22.

So, now I’m on the market. I’m thinking about the Ruger .22, 6" barrel, blued, with a trigger job.

I have since found out that the Cold 41 .22 is generally considered to be a superior gun. Being unable to test one out, I have zero practical experience with this. And, the colt runs about 2.5x the price of the Ruger.

My purpose is plinking at the range, hunting small game out to ~50 yards, and knocking the eye out of a bird flying.

I could really care less about “stopping power” and other human-hunting terms, since I doubt I’ll ever be pointing this weapon at another human.

What’s the Straight Dope, peeps?

Why not get a .22 rifle? They are very inexpensive and offer good accuracy and range compared to handguns.

Do not discount the Smith and Wesson 617 .22 revolvers. 10 shot, and if you want accuracy, a Smith is hard to beat. And when you cock it back to SA, I doubt you will get much more accurate with a factory pistol/trigger pull.

But I’d second lucwarm and go with a rifle, if pure range plinking/small game hunting is what you want. The Ruger 10/22 is the ‘gold standard’ among .22 rifles. Plus, there are tons of accessories, parts, and ‘DIY’ accurizing tricks for the 10/22.

And since you want to get rid of that G19, let me mail a signed copy of my dealers FFL, and we can ge that off your hands :wink:

I’ve got an old Ruger MK I that I’ll trade you straight across. :wink: