30 years for manslaughter?

Ron Gasser (white) shot unarmed Joe McKnight (black football player), got manslaughter conviction instead of 2nd degree murder, sentenced to 30 years.

I have two comments.

1. Now there is someone whose face was really working against him in a charge having to do with road rage.

2. The jury downgraded the charge from 2nd degree murder to manslaughter, which strikes me as incorrect based on my (limited) understanding of those charges. It sounds like the murder was intentional but unplanned. However, once the verdict was given, the judge gave a sentence more appropriate for the higher charge, which to me is wrong in that it seems like it is trying to contravene the jury’s judgment.

Seriously, I’m not a lawyer, so take #2 for what it’s worth (it may be worth #2).

Reading up on manslaughter, it seems like voluntary manslaughter might be a valid verdict possibly based on provocation (McKnight was arguing with him at the time about the traffic incident) or possibly on imperfect self-defense (Gasser may have believed that he was within his rights but McKnight was not close enough to him be a threat at that moment, since he was unarmed).

Also looking up (draconian) Louisiana law, the sentence for second degree murder is life imprisonment, and the sentence for manslaughter is up to 40 years. So I guess the judge’s sentence was well within the legal boundaries.

I wonder if the difference in sentencing would have affected the jury’s decision.

Good for the Judge. I really hate that road rage shit.

I remember watching Joe play for SC. Didn’t know about this.

So how much of that can Gasser reasonably expect to serve? Even if he only does half, he’ll be 71 when he gets out. Would/will he get social security and medicaid benefits?

If he’s released at 71 why wouldn’t he get social security?