4 lb prime rib roast. Now what?

I have this amazing hunk of meat here, and now I need to cook it!

I’ve never done this. Please Help Me!

The meat man said some people put it in a 500 degree oven for an hour, then turn the oven off for an hour. Then put the heat on again for an hour.

How do you control the “rate of doneness”? Man that sounds stupid!

Anyway, please help me not destroy this roast.

I swear this entire board has me on ignore!

My preferred way to cook a prime rib roast on a Weber kettle charcoal grill utilizing indirect heat method.

As for how long per pound - depends on how you like it (rare for me). I would definitely use a meat thermometer for best results.

Here’s a link that may give you some additional ideas.
http://www.tailgatehq.com/recipe.htm

Being a complete newbie to prime rib cooking I’d be afraid to take on the complication of grilling it. But wow does that ever sound good!

Try this recipe:

I make a prime rib roast every year for New Years. A good rule of thumb, if you don’t own a meat thermometer is about 45 minutes per rib at 325. That’s for medium rare in the center to medium on the ends. Also, that’s in an electric oven, so YMMV. Prime Rib will continue cooking when you remove it from the oven.
If you have a meat thermometer, you can guage it a lot better. 140 for rare, 160 for medium.

How to cook a roast:

Pre-heat the oven to 190c

Rub fresh-ground peppercorns, salt and mustard powder generously all over, working into the flesh.

Heat a heavy pan (a frying pan if you’ve got one big enough) on the hob (no oil or anything). When it’s really hot, place the meat on it - you’ll get a wonderful sizzle, and probably some smoke. Turn it every half-minute or so, until all sides have acquired some colour.

Put on a wire grill on top of a pan (so the meat is being cooked by direct heat all round, and so you collect the dripping).