A cautionary tale of house building

I’m a zoning administrator. I issue land-use permits. I go by the rules of the township. Individual neighborhoods have their own rules. I neither enforce nor care about them. (To be honest, there’s no way I could track all that.) Some lady just came in because some guy is building a house that doesn’t meet the conditions specified in the neighborhood’s master deed. She’s going to put a stop to it. He’s not going to be happy about it.

Bummer.

In a case like that, who would she go to for enforcement? If this is a “neighborhood” rule is there some kind of neighborhood association like there would be with a group of condos? Are there any legal “teeth” to this kind of a master deed, or is enforcement limited to trying to prevail in a civil suit?

It’s a private contract, so the neighborhood association would have to take it to court for a lawsuit. Whether it’s the neighborhood association who has standing to bring the suit, or whether an individual property owner has standing to do it, I cannot say.

That’s why I made sure my neighborhood didn’t have a homeowners’ association (or equivalent) before I bought. Having to look at my neighbors’ hideous lawn ornaments is a small price to pay for being allowed to plant a bush or build a deck without worrying about how it would affect the Master Plan.

Before I built an extension onto my house, I got the required permission (here in England that is from my local council planning department).

Why didn’t this guy do the same?

Even if you don’t have a neighorhood association, there still may be deed restrictions or municipal restrictions that you have to obey. With deed restrictions (in the absence of a homeowners association) I believe the standing to bring a lawsuit is usually given to the other people who own property in the subdivision.

Of course, they’re usually a lot less restrictive then the nightmare homeowners assocations we all here about.