Licenses and Inspection Visit - High Grass!

So I come home from work yesterday and hanging from my door is a nice little piece of paper from the local L&I office. He apparently felt my grass was too high and is threatening a $1000 fine. Get caught driving recklessly and you’ll get a $500 ticket…grow your grass too high and pay $1000. I’m new to the home owner experience so this is my first run-in with them. My neighbor says he showed up with his blue light flashing in my driveway and started peering in windows and doors after knocking and no one was home.

I’m a little concerned…just what kinds of powers do these guys have? Do I have to let him in to inspect if he asks me? Do they come around on their own at random or does someone have to call them out? Can he tresspass to evaluate how high the grass is in my back yard (its relatively obscured from view due to a privacy fence)?

I looked online last night but wasn’t able to find the rules about how long your grass can grow without getting a visit from the grass nazi. The kicker is that the grass really wasn’t all that bad…I’ve had a really tough couple of weeks and haven’t cut it (death in the family, other issues) but its not like little kids were getting lost in there. The area I live in is called Levittown PA, part of Bristol Township. I found the Bristol Township website but couldn’t locate any information outlining the L&I rules in my area. I’d like to educate myself completely before I call him back today so I can speak with some authority. If anyone could help me answer the questions above I’d really appreciate it.

Bongmaster… high grasss… heh-heh-heh

We don’t have grass nazis here in DC, and I’m also not sure what “L&I” means. I assume this is a government agency of some sort?