A Day in the Life of a Horseperson

Now, I work with horses for a living so of course with some regularity I’ve been kicked, bitten, knocked over, drooled on and generally hassled by the little monsters, er, darlings. But today was the first time I met the full force of a hoof in what vets call “the kill zone” – when you’re at just the right distance (about 1-2 feet away) that the horse connects with the full force of its massive hindquarter muscles.

I wasn’t standing behind him. He sppoked at nothing, jumped sideways and connected with an audible thump.
He nailed me right in the side of the quad.
I heard it in my teeth.
I saw stars.
My first thought was “thank god that wasn’t my knee.”
I iced it for an hour, and took 500mg of Naproxen.
I walked it off, but didn’t rub any dirt in it. :slight_smile:
I’m hoping for a hoof-shaped bruise to show off to my students.

In related news, I let the vet use my oral thermomter to take a horse’s temperature rectally this afternoon. She lost hers this morning and the barn’s was inexplicably missing. Nothing a little bleach won’t cure. LOL.

Tomorrow’s my day off. Thank Og and all his minions!

My xgf worked with horses, and regarded them as the stupidest animal on God’s green earthm

What do you think?

(Glad you’re ok, btw.)

This is a joke, right? :dubious:

Shod, or unshod? My dad carries around a nice scar on his thigh from a sharp-shod mule.

My prediction: You’re gonna have a hard time walking tomorrow. :slight_smile:

Oh, re: the thermometer thing – you need a vacation. Your brain isn’t wired right. I prescribe alcohol and sunshine.

I worked with a championship dressage rider who referred to her preened, pampered, extremely expensive hobbyhorses as “twelve hundred pounds of stupid.”

I’ve sported a horseshoe-shaped bruise on my quad too, and I was mounted when I got it. A deer spooked through our pack string, and there were horses and tourists everywhere. Good times.