A friend lies/cheats about something kinda small. Do you say anything?

I golf 9 holes with the same group of 8-12 guys every Sunday. We play a $5 game - very low stakes, with a variety of different bets/payouts. I’ve been playing with some of these guys for 30 years.

Yesterday I was playing with a guy who has been a semiregular for the past 5 years. I’ve played with him several times, and consider him a friend - tho we have never met up outside of golf. He miscounted his score on 2 different holes. (I can bore anyone who wants with specifics.) On each hole, his incorrect score was the difference between me winning 50 cents or not. So the money was immaterial. But you just don’t blatantly misstate your score.

In such a situation, would you say anything? Does it affect your overall impression of the person?

It shows an overall lack of commitment to the truth. If it is not a big deal, then why lie about it?
I would not trust them on other issues.

I wondered about that, but also wondered if someone could be “unreliable” regarding minor things, but dependable when it really matters.

Dependable meaning what exactly? I know someone that commits time-card fraud and steals from a food bank making really good money but he was always the sort of guy who would have your back so dependable right? … except now he’s turning into (or just revealing) that he’s very petty if someone else gets what he wants by working harder. My believe is a dishonest character will eventually show no matter how much they try to hide it.

Are you sure the guy did it intentionally? If you are sure, I guess you should keep an eye on him when playing golf in the future and call him out if he does something funny. I wouldn’t bring the matter up after the event though.

It’s only a game. Just don’t loan him any money.