a hynotherapst reckons he can cure my allergy, but can he?

to wine…ever since I was a child I’ve been extremely allergic to wine, especially red wine. If I have one sip I immediately break out in a rash all over my face, and get a sensation I can only describe as having all the moisture being sucked out of my head. this lasts for hours after, usually, and I end up feeling ill. If I’m sitting at a table and other people are drinking wine I will start to get a rash on my face. Needless to say I avoid wine and anything it’s in like the plague. (the weird thing is I’m not allergic to grapes or any other alcoholic drink however)

anyway my mother said she met a hypnotherapist who claimed he could completely cure my allergy in one session. I immediately said what a load of rubbish but she’s adamant that he could do it.

it can’t be possible can it? just interested in what anyone here might think, I’m not an expert in hypnotherapy but how can he possibly cure an immediate physical reaction with words?

There’s a lot we don’t know about how your thoughts and emotions influence bodily reactions. But it does seem incredibly unlikely that–even if your allergy is psychosomatic–it could be resolved in a single session of any kind of therapy.

But I’d say if this person claims they can cure you in a single session, offer to pay them three times their regular fee if they will refund it if you fail. That way, you have nothing to lose, and surely being able to enjoy the splendors of red wine will be worth it!

hah… actually I don’t drink at all now, not because of this issue though, I just gave up.

I guess what I’m doing is being stubborn and point-blank refusing to believe this guy could cure me of this with words alone. what’s he going to do, put me in a trance and say “convince yourself you are not allergic to wine” over and over? how can that possibly work.