A question for synesthetes

I’m a designer, so I was thinking about this the other day. If I design an ad, for example, that has a word in red to make it stand out, does it look different to you than the other words? Or because you see words/letters in colors already, is there no effect?

Similarly, any of you synesthetes out there designers yourselves? Does it present a challenge to you when you’re trying to select colors and create a design?

I see shapes and colors when I’m listening to music, and sometimes it can be distracting when I’m trying to work. I have to choose the right music or it just doesn’t work, or sometimes I just have to turn it off all together. So I can just imagine how tricky it would be if the stuff I was working on was getting all wonky with the colors because of the words that were in the layout.

Thanks!

It wouldn’t look any different to me, but I don’t have the letters-colors type either. Like you, I see sound though I don’t get too distracted because with my eyes open it’s just a faint shimmer of color at times. With my eyes closed, on the other hand, it’s much more distracting, but I’m usually hoping to sleep then.

I don’t think most people have more than one of the common types of synesthetia each, so it wouldn’t affect even very many synesthetes to try to design something to appeal to them. It’s an interesting idea, though.

I attribute colors to letters, numbers and musical notes. I’m also a designer.

I don’t literally *see *the colors. It’s like looking at a grayscale image. I know that the house is red, the lawn is green and the sky is blue, but I only see shades of gray. When I look at letters or numbers, I know that the A is red, the M is brown and the P is blue. But if the type is actually red, that supersedes the synesthesia. Once I start reading actual words and sentences, I’m no longer focused on individual letters, so there’s no problem.