Acceptance of the other 2 credit cards Discover and AmEx

I am reluctant to use Discover or Amex cards because I assume that there are still places that won’t accept them, and I don’t want to carry around a backup card just in case. Also I like to charge everything, yes I will charge a cup of coffee if I can (cash back bonuses and no ATM fees for carrying cash to pay), so having a CC that is accepted everywhere is importaint to me.

For those who used these other 2 cards, I would like to know about your experence about their acceptance, have you ever been not been able to use them while a MC or Visa would work? Do you carry backup cards (MC/V)? Or by now does everyone who accepts a CC accpet all 4?

90% of businesses I encounter accept Discover now. About the same as AmEx. Frankly, I have been using Discover for weekly business travel for about 8 months now & have had less problem with Discover than I have historically had with AmEx. AmEx has stranded me more than a couple times with their “you have no pre-set spending limit, but we think you are using more than what we think is normal for you so we won’t authorize the charge at that hotel you are trying to check into at midnight” feature.

I would stick with Visa / MasterCard as a first choice. Discover as a second choice. American Express somewhere down near Diner’s Club.

If you’re likely to travel abroad, then be aware that Visa is the most useful, followed by Mastercard. Amex is not accepted in many places, and I’ve never heard of Discover.

I know my vet won’t accept AmEx - he says the fees charged to him are too high for the relatively few people who want to use it.

This is what I was going to say too. Here in Europe (the parts I know anyway), Visa and Mastercard are accepted almost everywhere. Amex exists but has nowhere near the coverage, and Discover is virtually unknown.