Actors that play themselves playing their character

I was having a discussion with a guy at work the other day about actors and actresses that always seem to be themselves playing the role they were hired to do.

In other words, actors that can’t really act, but instead play themselves in the role of a character. That is, someone who seems to be the same person in every movie they’re in, just with a different backstory.

My example was Sean Connery. While I’m no expert on his career, in fact I daresay I haven’t seen even half the movies he’s been in, the ones I have seen always seem to be Sean Connery playing Sean Connery as 007, or a jewel thief, or a CGI animated dragon.

Having just read a thread about Liza Minelli (that also mentions William Shatner), I got to wondering if other people notice actors that fall into this category. Is there even a name for this type of phenomenon (besides poor acting)?

Who would you say also fits into this “always plays themselves” role?

[sub]this could be imho poll material, but i imagined it might turn into a conversation about acting and talent, and so chose cafe society[/sub]

I thought this was going to be about John Malkovich. But I’ll nominate Jeff Goldblum.

Arnold Schwarzenegger comes most readily to mind. If you can name more than two of the characters he’s played by the name of the actual character, you’re doing better than I can.

Tom Cruise seems to fit the bill as well.

Michael Douglas. Good GOD Michael Douglas…and I hate him for it. That, and for having sex with Catherine Zeta-Jones when I’m not. :frowning:

Most old Hollywood actors played themselves in various ways throughout their careers. They’d create a screen persona and generally play variations on it until they got a chance to do something else. If that happened, they’d start playing themselves in their new persona. Some that come to mind include:

Humphrey Bogart
James Cagney
Edward G. Robinson
W. C. Fields
Groucho Marx
Fred Astaire