Add two ingredients:

I am just beginning to actually cook stuff. But I want to add a little more interest to what I’m cooking. I’m not looking to try out 10 step, 15 ingredient recipes, but I want to add a little change, so add one or two ingredients/spices/something to what I’m already making:

Right now my Cottage Pie recipe is:

peas
carrots
corn
1 lb. beef, browned
worschestershire sauce
packaged garlic mashed potatoes
whatever cheese I have around grated on top

pretty much layered in the pan, in that order.
Ribs

Boil ribs, add “Hickory and Brown Sugar BBQ Sauce”, bake.

White Chicken Enchiladas (of Death)

1 lb shredded chicken breasts
1/2 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup butter
1 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup green chiles
8 oz. cream cheese
1 pint whipping cream
1 1/2 cups shredded Monterey Jack Cheese
1 cup cheddar cheese, Shredded
1 Tbs cumin
1 tsp white pepper
2 tsp paprika
Tortillas

Melt butter in pan, saute onions and green chiles
Add broth, cream cheese, cumin and white pepper, and chicken
Roll in warmed tortillas, place in greased pan, pour whipping cream over enchiladas and layer jack/cheddar cheese on top. Sprinkle with paprika, bake for 45 minutes at 350.

Help me with these, please :slight_smile:

I’d add mushrooms and onions to the cottage pie and maybe mix some chives with the mashed potatoes.

The sauce for the enchiladas looks a bit bland. How about mixing some green enchilada sauce with the cream? I might also put a pinch of oregano into the filling.

Enchiladas…Don’t grease the pan, it won’t work (for me), just put a layer of enchilada sauce on the bottom, it works much better. If you like spicey I would suggest some jalapenos OR replacing the veggie jack with pepper jack.
And as my FIL says, everything is better with corn.

Cottage pie (first of all, bonus points to you for not calling it “shepherd’s”!) I’d add allspice, ground, and just a splash of red wine vinegar. If I get another two adds, it’d be garlic and diced onions browned with the meat.