Adoption/Birth: Which costs more?

No boring backstory here. Just curious. Which would cost more: Adopting a newborn or having your own baby (assume that expenses would be the same from age 1 or so until 18.)

There are lots and lots of variables here, but I can tell you that my prenatal care plus vaginal hospital delivery (minus any sort of complications or pain medication) was around $7000. Once you get into maternal/fetal complications and epidurals, those numbers can very easily double.

I have no experience with adoption, but I understand that it can cost in the low to mid five figures.

Assuming you can get pregnant through plain old sex and don’t have to have reproductive assistance, and assuming a typical pregnancy that doesn’t require things like bed rest in a hospital, it’s significantly less expensive to make a child from scratch.
I had cheap kids. Using a CNM in a freestanding birth center, I believe my insurance was only billed for about $3,500 each time.
Friends of ours adopted within the US. The rough figure I believe was somewhere around $25,000.

Also, assuming you have health insurance, having your own baby can cost you close to nothing.
And while some companies offer their employees a flat donation towards an adoption ($5000 or so) the rest comes out of pocket. Adoption gets pricey also (up to and over $20,000 I’ve heard).
Invitro cycles run about $10-$12K a try + meds(another $8K). Meds can often be covered under your health insurance.

Each of my kids cost a few hundred (the hospital doesn’t take returns, even for store credit), youngest had some scary-ass complications but even the crappy insurance I had for him covered everything.
Adoption assistance is $2500.

If you have insurance building a new one is cheaper than getting a used model. If you don’t have insurance - gadzooks!

Not to get off on a tangent here but premature babies that have stays in a NICU cost a fortune.