Advice for bracing this table please.

I have this 4’x2’ piece of masonite that I used to lay on plastic storage bins and use as a work table for my hobbies. Two years ago my son put 4"x2" legs on it. With a small block of 2’x4’ braced against each leg It is now wobbling. I’ve got my hands on an 8 foot piece of 2’x1/4 wood. What is the best way to brace this table?

Options I have thought of:

1. Strechers across the long sides attached to the table top.
  2. X bracers along the short sides
  3. X brace against the one long side of the table that’s against the wall
  4. Smaller triangle braces against the top of the legs and the table top. Although the smaller blocks that he already used as bracing may get in the way.

If you can probably tell, I’m very, very new to this build it yourself stuff and I am no expert. My joinery skills include gluing, hammering and screwing. What would you do?

The only way I could see 1/4 inch wood helping is large triangular braces on both sides of the each outside corner assuming that’s where the legs are attached.

This is one of the things I’m thinking of. Would another dimension of wood be better?

Part of the problem could be the choice of materials. How thick is your piece of masonite? When I think of masonite for a table top, I picture something removable that gets replaced periodically as it wears out.

2x4s

Basic table legs would consist of running 2x4s in a box configuration , think along the lines of what could support itself , absent the table top.
The top just lays on a frame that can support itself and then some.

Although
The most limited configuration would be one attached horizontally on the wall , with a box shape extended from that, the legs coming down from the inside corners then having a horizontal running from leg to leg at least halfway down.