Advice for first-time fiction writer seeking editor?

No, not advice for me - I’d love to be a “first-time fiction writer” but have yet to demonstrate the discipline for that to happen.

IRL I’m a technical editor, not a fiction editor, but “editor” is all that sticks in most people’s brains. So one of my son’s friends recently wrote me to ask:

It’s a good question, but I got nuthin’. However, I’m sure some Dopers will have advice to share. Thoughts? What does it usually cost? How do you verify that someone is actually a good editor? How long should you allot for work to be edited? What kind of advice/editing can you expect (for example, suggestions on character development, pacing, and other higher-level input, and/or basics like fixing run-on sentences or identifying plot inconsistencies)?

First, if you’re paying, you can tell the editor what level you’re looking for. Developmental editors work on things like character development and pacing, and there are best-selling thriller writers who use them for every book. Expensive. Probably $3000 for the whole book assuming around 100,000 words.

Final polish if you think it’s ready to go out to publishers–this would include things like grammar, punctuation, spelling, your run-on sentences for instance, and notes about any obvious continuity errors or plot holes. Could be done for around $1500. A lot of writers will only send the first 50 pages or so to an editor for this kind of polish, because that’s the first thing an agent or acquiring editor will read and if that hooks them, the publishing house will pay to fix the rest. Obviously that would be a lower cost than for the whole book.