advice for self-taught graphic designers?

Hey guys,

So I was not formally trained in design. Ever since I was a kid I noticed a heightened interest in aesthetic and have been using the tools (photoshop, etc) since I was a kid.

I’m 26 now, got a degree in political science after being a little confused, but did finally embrace my passion and did freelance and now full-time design work for an agency.

In your experience can self-taught designers, for the long-run, hold their own in the design industry? I’ve been catching up on some of the core fundamental stuff on my own, and seem to put aside time to learn such non-practical things in the field weekly, but it’s a bit chaotic without a planned course-load that a school would of course give me.

Any advice would be great :slight_smile:

No, and I’m surprised you were hired . . . unless you had a fictitious resume and stole someone’s portfolio.

Let me put it this way. I’ve been a designer for about 45 years. I’ve taken a ton of courses, both in college and continuing education, and have had jobs in virtually every aspect of the industry. Now you come along with no training and no experience, and take the job away from someone who “paid his dues.” And now you’re asking me for advice?

Wow. Touchy.

He’s been designing since he was a kid. I don’t call that ‘no experience’

Stole someone’s portfolio? As I mentioned above, I have been doing this since I was a child, but did not go to college for it. I was hired because I had a portfolio of freelance work, and I got that work by doing free projects, working for start-ups and paying my dues that way.

Good. Now go back to school and get a real education.

Just off the top of my head: How much do you know about using type?