Advice on a potential job.

So, laid off back in Jan, and I’ve only had two interviews so far, the last one on last Monday. I think the interview went fantastic, and they even said they hadn’t had the number of applications they expected. Of course, that was a week and a half ago now, and I’m a worrier.

That said, am I worrying too much? Even were I perfect, an acceptance would take longer than a week and change, wouldn’t it? I am a little worried that they changed the application page to read at minimum high school degree (I have a Masters) meaning I may be overqualified, but this has been a long, LONG time searching for me.

If they interviewed you 10 days ago or so, there’s nothing wrong with making a follow up call and/or sending a follow up letter. You can offer to provide any additional information they might need and politely inquire as to when a decision will be made/how can you expect to be notified. Not only might you learn where you stand, but you would also demonstrate continuing interest in the position and a “go getter” attitude that may be helpful.

I would wait another week.
Having been in the position of hiring people from ads, I know that there is a set time for the ad to run, then they wait a few days to get any mail sent in after the last ad ran, and then they have to complete all of the interviews.
Generally, this is a minimum of a 2 week process, but usually more like 3 weeks.

I suppose a gentle nudge wouldn’t hurt. Did you already send a note, thanking them for the interview? If not, now would be the time!

For next time, a follow up question to them might be, “When do you expect to make a decision?”

DMark: I did shoot them an email the next day, thanking them for the interview / opportunity. I’m worried any other checking in this soon after that would qualify as too pushy; I don’t want to push myself over the line with them.