Advice on Computer Science as a Career

I’m currently in the process of applying for a Computer Science degree at a local state university in Florida. Specifically, I’m interesting in pursuing a career in the computer programming field. Are there any software developers out there in Dope Land that can share their experiences in the career field? Do you enjoy the work? How competitive is the job market?

The Florida University that I am applying to offers a bachelor of arts and a bachelors of science in Computer Science. The bachelor of arts degree has less math requirements in exchange for more humanities coursework. Do employers have a preference for one degree over another? Will I have a tougher time getting a job with a BA in Computer Science rather than a BS? :confused:

I’m a senior developer at a small company. I’ve worked for tiny companies and large companies. Ask away.

As far as your actual questions: I do enjoy the work. Some positions, like for Google or Facebook, are quite competitive, others are “we take anyone that applies”, most are not so bad, like 2-3 people for a spot, IME. I think employers would prefer the BS over the BA, but that’s just intuition. The math will help you more than an art history course. The only caveat would be documentation, but even a BS will make you take a course in technical writing.

I hire programmers, computer scientists, engineers, physicists, etc.

A few random thoughts.

1. The nice thing about computer programming is that A) it isn’t going away anytime soon, B) it is applicable to any specific field and industry.