After Shave Questions

Well, now that I’ve been shaving for several decades, someone tell me what exactly after shave lotion is supposed to do, other than sting and make me smell pretty?

Secondly, what’s the difference between after shave and cologne? I just ran out of the former, but have a few bottles (gifts) of the latter. If I use colgne instead of after shave will something bad happen to me?

I was to understand that aftershave’s main non-cosmetic purpose is as an astringent, which helps tighten up pores after shaving opens them up, and as an antiseptic, so any little cuts you get while shaving don’t get infected.

Cologne would not necessarily have these qualities.

I use Witch Hazel. A natural astringent made from the plant. Doesn’t sting like after shave.

I noticed years ago that the bottle indicated it could be used as after shave. Gave it a try and liked it. $1.50 bottle lasts a couple years.

The alcohol in after-shave also has a cooling effect on the face, which may need it after being scraped raw. Check the ingredients in the cologne. If there is alcohol in it, use it as after-shave as well.

The amount of fragrance in cologne is much greater than what you will get in after shave.

“After shave” is just a marketing victory to sell perfume to men, the reason it hurts was deliberately made that way to boost a macho element… your not covering yourself in perfume if it hurts!

If skin has been scraped raw, alcohol is one of the last things it needs to get better. Cold water provides more cooling than evaporating room temperature alcohol and doesn’t damage living cells like alcohol does.

Aftershave is an eau de toilette, a lightly scented cologne. I think aftershave lotions are recommended now, because the alcohol in regular aftershave dries out and damages your face.

LOL. I like this. I usually can’t wait to put on the AS, mainly because the stinging helps me take my mind off of the itching!

HERE is a video that helps explain things.