Aggies-Longhorns. WTF, refs?

How do you get one point out of that play for anyone? A fumbled snap, the kicker kicked it anyway (through the scrum), A&M recovered in the end zone. It’s a missed extra point, you dumbshits! What the hell?

A&M picked it up outside the endzone and tried to advance it, the play is live as now they have an opportunity for 2 points themselves. The dude who picked it up fumbled into the endzone where one of his teammates recovered. You may disagree with the rule, but the refs made the correct call.

None of the replays showed anyone picking it up outside the end zone. I’ll believe it, but that’s where my confusion came from.

One replay from the endzone they were kicking at clearly shows someone, a lineman I suspect, picking it up and starting to run to his left with it.

Actually, it appeared the Aggies may have had a beef on the play–although not the one given in the OP. After the Texas holder muffed the hold, the kicker seems to have kicked the free ball as it was lying on the ground. That’s a 15-yard penalty–and a loss of down penalty at that. It would have voided the point if called and accepted.

(Ahem)

HOOK 'EM HORNS!!!

~escapes~

There is some good discussion of the play in question at The (Sports) Official Forum.

Pash

Man, I never thought I’d say this, but, “Hook 'em, Horns!” Or, more to the point, “Get a horrible wasting disease and turn to a puddle of shit, Dennis Franchione!”