Airbus strikes firetruck on runway [Peru]

Curious if others have seen this news story. Apparently the fire department was conducting a drill while landings/takeoffs were being conducted. I’m not sure how fire departments schedule practice, but during live airport operations seems really risky. Reports vary, but at least one fireman was killed. The Airbus lost at least one of their main landing gear and one engine was torn away. Happened at the airport in Lima, Peru

Link to video here

I know nothing beyond what’s in the vid. Here’s one of the early comments on youtube which has a plausible sound to it.

I’m a commercial pilot here in Peru and I’m very sad and mad that this happened. Aircraft was given clearance to takeoff by ATC. Firefighters were doing a simulacrum practice but they did not request the ATC to use the runway. Easily avoidable by either checking both ways before entering the runway or by following procedure and requesting ATC for clearance. I’m devastated.

I don’t operate into Lima myself, so can’t add any personal local knowledge. Per my navigation publications the airport is undergoing expansion involving a new runway and a bunch of new taxiways which appear to be paved but not in use yet. The Google Maps pictorial view is pretty good. We don’t know how fresh those pix are, but they show a lot of new pavement to the southwest side of the single existing runway and its parallel existing taxiway near the existing terminal on the northeast side.