alcohol "thins the blood?"

Yesterday, a friend of mine said she was going to have another tattoo done. During the conversation she said “A tattoo artist won’t give you a tattoo if you’re drunk because alcohol thins the blood”. My thinking was that a tattoo artist won’t give you a tattoo while you’re drunk because a biker who under the influence asked you to put “I love Richard Simmons” on his arm might come back the next day and kick your butt if you comply with his request. When I said “How does alcohol ‘thin’ the blood?” she said “I don’t know but it makes the bleeding slower to stop”. I’m not a doctor but this didn’t sound very convincing to me.

I tried a search in old GQ threads but I didn’t see anything that seemed to answer this question. I read EB:
Encyclopaedia Britannica: alcohol consumption - Physiological and psychological effects of alcohol
But I don’t think the EB article answers the question either. So I turn to the SDMB denizens. What’s the straight dope?

It is conceivable that someone who has been drinking excessively, and for a long time, may have “thin blood”. Specifically, alcohol in excess can cause a lowering of the blood platelets (those ‘cells’ in the blood that help make a clot). This can happen because alcohol is toxic to the bone marrow where the platelets are made. The effect is readily reversible upon cessation of drinking.

In the long term, alcohol in excess can also lead to cirrhosis. Cirrhosis does tend to cause “thin blood”, but that’s not something that’s gonna be reversed by abstaining for a day or two. It’s basically irreversible.

It was only from a movie, but when I watched Suicide Kings they said something about it. They basically said that alcohol damages the liver which produces vitamin K which helps blood clotting.

Obviously, I have no medical qualifications either, so take this with a grain of salt.