Am I being passive-aggressive?

Dr.J has this uncle who’s been a thorn in everyone’s side since he married into the family. He’s loud, he’s abrasive, and his one great joy in life is pushing people’s buttons. You all know this guy. He’s the instigator, the one who never can seem to leave bad enough alone, the one who always has his extra-long shit-stirring stick close to hand. He’s never actually in the argument, but he almost always plays a huge part in getting the argument started.

Apparently my mother-in-law enjoys watching me interact with this guy because I never take his bait. I either feign a polite interest in his views, politely tell him he’s full of shit, or simply pretend I didn’t hear his little comments. This is partly because Uncle Jimmy is really just a fifty-year-old version of the guys who used to bark at me in middle school, and I’m an old pro at not responding to the bait of that sort of asshole. Mostly, though, I do it because I know it drives the old turd absolutely batshit.

And that makes me wonder: am I being passive-aggressive? It seems like I am, since my inaction is primarily to piss the man off, and that’s pretty much the definition of passive aggression. At the same time, though, passive-aggressive is usually considered a negative trait, and I just can’t quite see ignoring a shit-stirring uncle as a bad thing.

While it is passive-aggressive, it’s at least in response to overt aggression. The bad name passive-aggression gets is because it’s usually unprovoked.

Maybe a bit, but I wouldn’t worry about it, because it’s all a game to him. Instead of reacting to his game as most people would seem to, you’ve chosen a different strategy. And if his inability to piss you off in some way off pisses him off, then too bad for him.

If he were being genuine, instead of trying to get a rise out of people simply for the spectacle of it, I’d say you might have cause to be concerned about your reaction to him. In this case, I don’t think so.