Ammo experts, teach me on the basics!

A little bit of background first. When I was a young teen, I worked at a candy shop. Came in knowing nothing, by the end I knew pretty much anything one could ask about a particular product. Same thing when I went to a pharmacy. I learned the minutiae in the category, and could both provide detailed help and detailed info to customers. And I loved it.

I’m now a manager at my store, and as such carry security keys to certain areas like our ammo cases. As such, I become the default resource to which customers look when buying ammo. And I am clueless. So I’m gonna set out the basic buying scenario, and hope you guys can fill out the primary gaps. I’ll learn as I go, and kind customers have already filled in some gaps. My goal is to be as literate as I was in OTC.

Scenario; Customer asks for ammo in this fashion: <manufacturer> <sub-label> <gauge> <jacketing> <maybe grains or subtype> <quantity>. I may not have it (doubly so if LR-.22). Asks for suggestions.

'K. <brands>. We usually carry Winchester, Remington, Federal, Perfecta, and TulAmmo. Best to worst? Judging by sales, I’d expect TulAmmo to be the worst, yet Federal (seems generic to me) excited my customer last night into dropping $200 into aluminum-jacketed 9 mm rounds last night.

<sub-label>. Recently got a case of Winchester “Golden Bullets” 22lr in. None of my shooter friends had seen it before. Winchester and Remington both seem to have tiers of sub-brands to differentiate things with customers, and I have no idea.

<gauge> Mostly got it, though I guess there can be some differences based on the length of the load. Doubt I’ll have to do much service there as shooters know what they can use.

<jacketing> Aluminum, brass, FMJ? No clue, though I know aluminum is softer.

<grains> I know more grains = higher propulsion, but whether this is due to a finer grain size or more propellant… This is more sheer curiosity.