An absolutely retarded question (a nitpick) on bolding of a username

Bear with me:

I am not an English major. I’m a simple engineer. I pave runways and build hangars for a living. And in my spare time, I love to surf the Dope.

Sometimes I feel it necessary to quote a Doper on either a cite or a quote, and can’t quite figure out just what is grammatically correct. If I quote a Doper and include the possesive ‘apostrophe and “s”’, is that supposed to be bolded too?

i.e.

Tripler’s OP is really a nitnoid question. [Grammatically correct or incorrect?]
versus
Tripler’s OP is really a nitnoid question. [See above comment.]
Is it really established? Not that it would thaw out the Cold War or anything, I’m just genuinely curious if there is an actual precedent. . .

Tripler
Oh, the Cold War ain’t over. Trust me. :wink:

I figure it this way (it’s crossed my mind too).

By custom, you bold the name of the Doper that you’re mentioning. Is the possessive a part of that name? No. Thus the 's is not bolded.

Whether it’s established usage or not, I have no idea. But it keeps me happy.

You’re in luck – it’s not a question of grammar at all. What is and isn’t bolded (or italicized, or underlined, etc.) is a question of style. And we’ve all got our own styles, right?

If it matters, I’d do it aldiboronti’s way – just bold the username. It follows from similar conventions with other formats:

Moby-Dick’s themes are pretty obvious, even to a non-English major.

I am only posting so that I can use Interrobang!?'s possessive.

Where else would you see !?'s used?

I don’t bold at all, that solves the problem for me.

But I’m lazy, you do what suits you.

It’s always nice to see you Tripler my dear.

Here’s another chiming in that possessives absolutely should not be bolded. YMMV, though. My rage for you doesn’t burn with the fire of a thousand suns.

Yet.

If I’m feeling lazy, I bold 'em. That’s most of the time, so … eh. :slight_smile: