Another jury duty question

I did a search for threads with jury duty, but couldn’t seem to find one that could answer me this:

What are the requirements for meeting financial hardship (in Los Angeles County, if that makes a diff.)? Does it have to put me out of my house, or just a month behind on payments?

I live a much nicer lifestyle than some of my compadres, but if I missed a week of work (I’m an independent contractor) I’d lose about a month’s wages…does that meet the test?

Summoned Seth

To quote John Adams “It’s your DUTY damn it!”. Don’t weasel, cry or whine. It is the price we all have to pay for living in a society where we have the RIGHT to a jury trial.

And this just freaken pisses me off. We get the damn threads all the time where folks try to second-guess the jury’s decision- and call it “stupid” or worse. And then we have to put up with constant questions about how to get out of jury duty. We are here to FIGHT ignorance- and sometimes ya gotta fight it in the trenches.

I just got done serving an ENTIRE year on the County Grand Jury- at a munificent $20/day. Tell me about losing a weeks pay again, huh?
Mannie- I beg and plead with you- can we stop “how do i get out of jury duty” questions? The hypocrisy is making me sick. I’d prefer “how to hold up a bank” questions- at least the dishonesty there would be like a breath of fresh air. Excuse me- i gotta go wash my hands…

Dear Dan: Thank you for contributing nothing to this thread, and ranting in the wrong forum.

Here is some info that may be able to help you, seth. I’d give 'em a call. If you really can’t afford jury duty, let them know. Otherwise, do your duty.

I will not stop discussions of how to do legal things, however distasteful (well, OK, some distasteful things, but you know what I mean).