Antibody test for H1N1?

I am pretty sure I already had H1N1 flu, just before the outbreak was announced. Now that they are talking about vaccines, I am interested in getting an antibody test to see if I’ve already had the infection. I work in the health field and would think this would be easy information to find, but it’s not. Does anyone know if there is an antibody test available and - if so - where I could request it? I wrote to the CDC and got their canned response that didn’t include info. about testing.

I do not have a definitive answer but I highly doubt that there is an antibody test commercially available … for any influenza, let alone pandemic A/H1N1. It would have very little clinical utility and therefore there would be very little demand.

To expand: what clinical circumstances would a physician really care if someone has had a specific influenza in the past? How would that information ever change a treatment plan? Well, you are suggesting one rare circumstance: you think that you may have already had H1N1 and if you could prove it then you’d want to avoid getting vaccinated. Yet the cost of the blood test would be greater than the cost of the vaccine so most of the time the better answer would be to just get a vaccine even if you may already have protective titres, assuming that you are in a target population group, either by your health field status or by a risk factor.

If you really wanted to know anyway and the cost/time was no factor then your best bet might be to contact the vaccine makers’ influenza research groups and to beg, cajole, bribe, them into using their lab’s antibody test.