Any one else in a bad job situation they can't afford to leave?

I’ve been a school librarian for 14 years, after an equal amount of time in academic/public libraries. The rigid schedule would have burnt me out after 6-8 years if I hadn’t landed in a school where I had an open schedule where students came to the library when they had research to do or wanted to find a book (with a few scheduled classes). It was great for a while. It was hopping, but my public library background prepared me for that.

Then a new administration came on board. Turnover is a serious problem, and I have been called to sub for classes 5 times already this school year. If I have a class scheduled, there’s no guarantee that’ll be taken into account. Bottom line is the stress is killing me. I get paid a lot for my trouble, though. Even if I could go back to the public library system (no guarantee, since there’s a limited market for 55 year old burnt out school librarians) I’d have to take a huge pay cut. Another school? A set schedule of 5-6 classes is what would have burned me out much earlier. I kind of painted myself into a corner staying as long as I did.

Ms. P doesn’t make enough to support one person since she changed careers a few years back. We have two kids in college, and the family depends on my income. My solution, which I’ve had to resort to once before, is to go on anti-anxiety meds to keep me going. Not ideal, but it’s really the only choice at this point.

What does “If I have a class scheduled” mean?