Anybody here with Cochlear Implant(s)?

Anybody here with Cochlear Implants? I’m asking for input only from people with first-hand experience.

I’m 70 and my diseased hearing has reached the point where even state of the art hearing aids are no longer very effective. Both my Audiologist and ENT have suggested Cochlear Implants as a possibility I might pursue. FWIW I’m already aware that CI’s aren’t magic bullets that “restore” lost hearing. I’m wondering just how difficult the learning curve has been for recipients.

I have no first-hand experience, but in the interests of keeping this thread alive, I’ll contribute.

My ex-wife is an audiologist who attended at a number of cochlear implant surgical procedures. As I recall from her, a cochlear implant is an all-or-nothing procedure–that is, if you have one, then you’ve ruined what hearing you do have (apparently, the procedure severs the aural nerve from the ear, and replaces it with wires from the cochlear implant, meaning that if the cochlear implant doesn’t work as promised, you cannot go back to hearing aids).

Additionally, what you’ll hear through a cochlear implant won’t be what you heard when you could hear clearly. Thanks to my ex, I once heard a recording of what cochlear implant recipients hear, and it was barely recognizeable as spoken English. Children who are born totally deaf (i.e. no connection between the aural nerve and the brain) can be taught to recognize what they hear through it, but with adults, it is much more difficult to understand “through the mud” (as my ex put it), since they once enjoyed perfect hearing, unlike children who never did.

I’d suggest that you ask your audiologist and ENT for more information, especially since it is apparently an all-or-nothing procedure. They’re the professionals and should be able to advise you appropriately.