Anybody know anything about Adobe Framemaker?

OK, here’s the deal. I got laid off last week. I was a Quality Engineer at a web-based start-up. A couple of months ago I had decided to try technical writing as a career - I have a lot of techie experience now, and I have a B.A. in English. I am so ridiculously qualified for the jobs I’m seeing, except for one thing - Framemaker. I need to learn it. The program costs $1500. The 3 day class to learn the program costs $900, and isn’t being offered again locally until March 19. All of the tutorial books I could find require you to own the program. There are a couple of short tutorials on the Adobe site that I will be doing over the next couple of days, but that isn’t going to take me far, so I’m pretty much screwed.

So here are my questions -

Does anybody have any experience with this program?

I’ve used Pagemaker previously, is the interface significantly different?

If you’ve got experience, do you think a 2-3 day class to learn this would be worth the cash outlay?

Does anybody have a copy they want to loan me for a week?

Any advice or opinions would be greatly appreciated.

Hi Slackergirl. I was a tech writer in the IT industry for about 9 years full-time. For the past 5 years I’ve done the same sort of thing as a freelance contractor. I hope I can be of some help. Caveat: I’m in London, so not all of my experience may transfer.

I don’t wish to start off on a negative note… but you may find there’s a lot more to it than having a degree in English. I have one too, but I have never considered it relevant to the job.

Just our of interest, is that English Language or Literature? Mine’s Lit.