Anyone care to help with a database design conundrum?

First, some quick background. I’m my company’s jack-of-all trades computer person. I mostly do light programming in Visual Foxpro 9, in which I am self taught. I’m also familiar with Access, VBA (though mostly in Excel, I have yet to use VBA in Access), and Crystal Reports. All of which I’m also self taught in.

I’m familiar with the concepts involved in relational databases, but have never mastered implementing them properly, so my databases tend to be hybrid flatfiles/relational. That’s not a huge concern for me right now, as I tend to get the job done, I just throw that out there to give you an idea where I’m coming from.

So here is my dilemma. I need to create a new Access database to track MLS (Multiple Listing Service, it’s where real estate agents list properties they want to sell) statistics. In the MLS there are essentially two types of properties I’ll be tracking:

1. Sold properties - Simple as that, these properties have been sold and that won’t change.

2. Active properties - These properties have not yet been sold and can change status at any time to Pending (there is an offer on the house, but it’s not final) to Expired or Canceled (either way they are off the MLS and I no loner care about them).