Anyone here do gardening or landscaping for a living?

If you do, do you enjoy your work and does it seem like a “job” to you? It is an interest of mine though I have no real experience other than cutting a lot of lawns when I was in high school. But I think now I’d like to work outdoors – yes, even in this south Louisiana heat and humidity! Also, do you make a lot of money doing this work! Thanks for your input. :slight_smile:

I’ll move this thread to the In My Humble Opinion forum, since you’re asking for personal experiences and not facts.

Yup. Been working in the “green industry” for 21 years now. Started in garden centers while I was in high school and college (BS Horticulture), then worked in landscape design-build, then in landscape maintenance, then nursery management (plants, not kids).

Then I went to Grad School. Got an MS in Forestry, been working in Urban Forestry for the last 9 years. I currently manage 45 people doing landscape installation and maintenance, urban forestry, and turf maintenance for a municipal government.

Is it work . . . yeah, it’s work, hard work. Is it fun? Sometimes (of course, sometimes it really sucks). Is it better than, say, putting in 40 hours a week in a cubicle? It is for me.

Have your friend try landscape work by working for someone else. If he likes it, he can go out on his own. If he hates it, well, McDonalds is always hiring.

Hope this helps.