Anyone into pizza grilling?

Husband and I got a Big Green Egg earlier this summer, and lately we’ve been on a pizza grilling kick with it. We usually use the pre-made doughs from Trader Joe’s, because I’m not very good at making anything involving yeast. Sometimes we have some major issues getting the pizza off of the peel and onto the stone in the grill, so I’m wondering if anyone can give me some pointers on how to keep that from happening. Here’s how we’ve been doing it.

1. We roll out the dough on a well-floured cutting board on the kitchen counter.
  2. Once the dough is rolled out, we move it to a wooden pizza peel that has flour and cornmeal on it.
  3. We top the pizza on the peel.
  4. We take the pizza out to the preheated and cornmeal coated stone in the grill, and pray that the pizza slides out onto the stone without sticking and losing all the toppings.

For some reason, the TJ’s plain dough sticks more than the whole wheat or herb ones do. Does anyone have any ideas as to what we can do to keep our pizzas from sticking to the peel?

Use cornmeal on the peel, not so much flour. You dough should already have enough flour and be pretty dry (not moist in the least)

Also, after you stretch the dough and put it on the meal covered peel, slide it around periodically to make sure that it is not starting to stick.

I generally slide it around after I put on the sauce, slide it some more after cheese and toppings.

It should not stick.

Make your own dough, it is not that hard.

Hmmm…grilled pizza. Interesting – we never had a problem with it sticking to anything. Is is going from cold to warm (from freeze or fridge to warm prep area) and moisture from the temp differences is getting the dough where it’d stick to anything? Regular dough does get more affected by moisture than wheat.

Fresh dough is more room temp, so the moisture is more controlled. Maybe you want to get the pre-made crust more room temp before proceding?