Aquarium algae question

I’m still fairly new to the aquarium world, so I’m hoping someone out there can help me.

I’ve had my 20-gallon aquarium for about a year now. It had cycled nicely, and everything was fine up until a few months ago. I had to leave town for a handful of days, and I purchased one of those auto-light switches that turns the lights on and off at specified times. I tested it, and it seemed to work okay. But when I got back home from the trip, it had failed at some point. I’m not sure how many days the light was left on, but I’m guessing a few. There was a growth of brown algae on everything: the glass, the artificial plants, and some of the decorations. I scrubbed the sides and washed off the plants and decorations, but ever since then, the brown algae continues to come back, no matter how often I get rid of it.

I’m assuming this was due to the lights being left on for so long, but I suppose it could just be a coincidence that it started at the same time. Any confirmation that this could have been what started it, and more importantly, any idea on how to get rid of it once and for all?

Oh, I should add, it’s a freshwater tank, if that makes a difference.

What sort of fish are in it?

Try a water treatment, available at any pet store or retail chain such as Wal-Mart or Target. Even supermarkets have a small assortment.

You also may want to invest in a pleco fish. They’ll eat the algae and will not bother the other fish in your tank.

Right now, just five zebra danios. I’ve been planning to add more (I had a few others types that died a while back), so perhaps starting with the pleco you recommended would be a good thing to do.

I’ll hit a pet store today and look for the pleco and water treatment. Thanks for your advice!

What sort of water are you using? IIRC plain old tap water isn’t the best thing for aquariums. Too much in the way of phosphates.

Yes, I use tap water, but always with a tap water conditioner before I add it to the aquarium.