ArcMap/ArcCatalog question

I’m just learning how to use ArcGIS (version 10.0). I want to make a new table, but when I go through the New Table… dialogue box in ArcCatalog, I end up with a table which only has column headings, but no data and no empty cells where I could enter data. What’s going wrong?

Here is an example of some of the test data I’ve been trying to use. I saved it in a text document with the name Test.txt.

I get x, y, ID, and color as column headings, but nothing else.

Alternately, since this is probably too specialized a question for this board, what’s a good place to get help for these sorts of things?

I haven’t used ArcGIS in a long time, but the ESRI forums always helped me when I got stuck. It’s closed to new questions, but chances are someone has had the same question as you:

Are you trying to create a dBase table or a table in a Personal or File Geodatabase?

I have no problem createing a dbase table under a folder. I then can right click on the table to add fields. Then, drop the table in a ArcMap session, start editing and add data.

Usually, you create a shapefile (or other feature class) by either creating the features first – polygons, points, lines, etc. – then, creating attribute fileds (table columns), and then filling in the attributes (there are different ways to do this – directly in the table is one way).

Or, if you want to plug some existing attributes that you already have (say, in an Excel table) to an existing shapefile, you have to make sure that at least one field (column) in both the shapefile and the new table has exactly the same attributes; and then you use the “Join” command.