Ardbeg 10-year single malt: fine scotch or household disinfectant?

I picked up a bottle of this at the airport on the return from my last trip. I am a novice single-malt drinker, and I am just getting into the joy of trying new things (my favorite so far is Glen Moray - smooth and light). So when I saw that Ardbeg was described as smooth, and had a glowing testimonial from Jim Murray, I thought I would give it a try.

When I took it home and opened it, I could have sworn that I had opened a bottle of chloraseptic instead. It was amazing how overpowering the smell of phenol was. I let it breathe in the glass for 5, 10, 20, 30 minutes, and it only improved a tiny bit. So finally I bit the bullet and tried drinking it. On the tongue it was slightly better, but the damn phenol still filled my nose. Yes, I suppose it was smooth, but when your eyes are watering from carbolic acid, who notices? I would have thought that I got a bad batch or something (can scotch get corked?), but upon reading the little booklet that came with it, the makers proudly boasted of its smooth phenolic tones!

Has anyone else tried this scotch? Is my unxperienced palate mising something, or should I just send it on a one way trip down the drain?

It’s all about what you like, never mind what someone else liked or recommended. My current favorite single malt is Glen Fidditch. Try that.

Fine scotch, IMHO. Although you could disinfect with it in a pinch. Lysol’d be cheaper, though.

I wouldn’t call Ardbeg smooth. In fact it is one of the archetypal Islay malts, along with Laphroiag. Islay malts are extremely smokey and peaty and not to everyone’s taste (I think they’re great).

Try it with a bit of water or an ice cube.

Islay malt…blech!

Pawn it off on someone who likes that sort of stuff and get a bottle of Speyside malt instead. Better yet, find a bottle of 18 year old Highland Park! :smiley:

Stuff from Islay is an acquired taste.