Art, valid or not??

Alright all ya’ll…

I am an artist, down to the bone. And I have met many people who admire this of me and many who look down on me for it.
There are many people who believe that art is a cop out. A dreamy excape from reality where you can get nothing done and will be a bum for the rest of your life.
But some think that is is necessary and magical.
I was just wondering about your opinions on the subject.

Take care. Be well. God Bless**

Can’t it be both? Just take out the ‘be a bum’ part and the statement is true, I believe.

Even those who create bad art find it both a dreamy escape from reality and necessary and magical.

What I am trying more to get at is: for example some parents shun their children if they choose art as something they wish to do with their life, thinking that it has no credit and no future. Do you agree with this??

Take care. Be well. God Bless**

Yes, I agree. Some parents do that.

Are you kidding? I work my ass off.

I’m a 3D modeler, for computer games. I work LONG hours. 36 hours is my personal record.

As a kid, my family would tell me, “Art’s a good hobby, but you’ll never make a living at it.” Now I make more money than they do. :smiley:

I was a freelancer for a long time- emphasis on the “free” part. The key is to make money, doing what you like. I can’t imagine doing anything else.

I’ve always kinda thought that wanting to be an artist is a lot like wnting to be a professional basketball player. It takes a lot of work, a lot of practice and still most of them will fail.

I know several artist and they go to craft fairs, they sell some stuff here and there but they can not live on what they do so they have other jobs that pay for their art. But I do think there are those lucky few who do manage to become successful at it.

BTW one of my favorite pasttimes is trying to come up with good definitions of confusing concepts like art.