Ask Me How To Care For Your Antiques

I work in a museum, and part of my job is cleaning, preserving and storing artifacts of all types. A few times, I’ve thought about starting this thread, and after a couple of people have told me they’re interested, I finally decided to take the plunge.

I’m not an expert, of course. Sometimes, in the course of my work, I’ll have to ask for guidence on how to clean a certain item, but unless your antique is something unusual, I should be able to give you a general idea. (Worse comes to worse, I’ll ask at work.)

A few general tips to get the ball rolling:

1. Never store antiques in the attic. The temperature and humidity fluctuations can cause a lot of damage.

2. Don’t use furniture polish on wood furniture. They can leave harmful residues.

3. Beware fingerprints. They can even eat into metal, given enough time.

4. Don’t store anything in cardboard boxes, unless they’re acid-free. Over time, the acids from the box can stain anything that they come in contact with.

5. Don’t fold cloth items. Over time, the fibers can break on the fold. It’s best not to fold old newspapers, as well.

6. Never, ever, ever use scotch tape on a paper artifact. Remove any staples or paperclips because they can rust.

Well, there’s a start, anyway. If you have an item that you’d like to know how to clean, store, or preserve, let me know. I’ll give it my best shot.