Ask the Ballerina

A search turned up nothing, and I figured people always wonder things about ballet, so I figured it was time for an Ask the Ballerina Thread. So I’ve been dancing for about eleven years, and I started Pointe (that painful looking thing where you’re on your toes) about two years ago. So any questions about ballet or something of that sort?

But I know why–my sister was a ballerina, and I spent half my childhood down in the dressing room listening to Mlle. Melita pound the floor with her cane, yelling, Fifff positions, girlssss!"

Sister danced till her knees gave out, with a crash, in her late teens. She’d danced for Princess Grace in Monaco, with Margot Fonteyn (well, one guest performance).

So my emnity toward ballet is strictly personal, not objective . . .

In the case of Pointe, are there any fixatives applied to the floor to prevent slipping? If not, are there any particular measures taken to ensure a good grip?

Are there any general practices (leading to misconceptions regarding the technicalities of ballet) that are normally (unintentionally or not) hidden from the public?

That’s kind of confusingly phrased, I’ve decided. What I mean is, how many hours a week is typically spent training and rehearsing? What are some interesting technical details that you know of, that the average spectator wouldn’t concern themselves with, e.g., the toe-material of Pointe shoes, floor composition and its effect on performance (perhaps tied in with my first question), etc.

Do a significant percentage of male ballet dancers tend to be gay, or is this just a ignorant stereotype?

How old are you? Do you dance professionally or “just for fun?” Why did you decide to start dancing? And for a really strange question, how do your toes look?

Have you been following 9 Chickeed Lane (there is a thread in Cafe Society)
One of the main chars is interviewing at a balet company.

Brian