Ask the Bored Virologist!

I’m really really bored, and I’m figuring that given the interest some of my rants and various odd stories from the lab have been getting there might, just might be enough interest for this.

Anyhoo, I’m a lab tech in the Virology department of a (major?) research institution. We’ve got monkeys, virii and biocontainment labs, what more could you ask for?

[sub]Don’t hit me… or if you do, hit me nice :wink: real nice[/sub]

While I’m against animal testing, you are welcome to take the monkey off my back. I’ll throw in the woodpecker for free.

Ever since high school biology, I really get the willies when I see (on TV etc.) things multilplying in a petri dish. I shudder to think that when I come down with a cold or infection of some kind that I’m hosting some disgusting things. It sometimes even grosses me out to see clusters of thing that aren’t in a petri dish. Someone started a thread on this fear of clusters a while a go. I guess my question is: have you ever heard of this? Did it ever come up in your schooling? By the way, what kind of educational background do you need to do what you do? I guess I have more than one question.

(There are 3 kinds of people in this world: those who can count, and those who can’t. Leave me alone. )
*Disclaimer: Yes, I know that humans are always host to lots of [disgusting] organisms. I’ve seen the ‘dust mites in the eyelashes’ pics too.

I don’t want anymore monkeys, thank you very much.

Animal testing: (I’m not really sure this is a question but I’ll explain a little bit about it) Can more or less be broken into two catagories. One is the mice/rat catagory. Use of mice and to a lesser degree rats is fairly common in lab experiments. Mice breed rapidly, are cheap to house and have a HIGH degree of similarity in their immune systems to humans.